Week Woman

A Pox on the Patriarchy

Quotation of the Week – John Donne on Consent

Licence my roving hands and let them go / Before, behind, between, above, below

- John Donne demonstrates he understands consent in To His Mistress Going to Bed. Shame he can’t enlighten George Galloway or Julian Assange being, you know, dead for the past 400 years.

2 comments on “Quotation of the Week – John Donne on Consent

  1. SnottyProf
    August 21, 2012

    When it came to the death which so regrettably keeps him from enlightening such deviants as Assange, however, Donne was not so much into the ol’ consent… indeed one might even say that he had a bit of a rape fantasy: “I would not that death should take me asleep. I would not have him meerly seize me, and only declare me to be dead, but win me, and overcome me.”

    • Week Woman
      August 21, 2012

      Interesting point snottyprof. I also felt that Donne had some slight issues – viz
      Take me to you, imprison me, for I,
      Except you enthrall me, never shall be free,
      Nor ever chaste, except you ravish me.

      Still, at least he understands that he shouldn’t rape others, even though he seems to have some worrying fantasies of his own. God Bless

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on August 20, 2012 by in Quotation of the Week and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29,499 other followers

